Bravo, Sammy on fire as West Indies pile up 166 against Pak Print
User Rating: / 2

altJPNN|Mirpur| April 1, 2014 |Late batting blitzes by Dwayne Bravo and captain Darren Sammy lifted the West Indies to 166—6 against Pakistan in their crucial World Twenty20 match on Tuesday. Bravo struck 46 off 26 balls and Sammy 42 not out off 20 to provide a psychological advantage for the defending champions. Bravo’s burst included two sixes and a four off Umar Gul, who went for 21, runs in the 18th over. Bravo and Sammy also took 24 off

spinner Saeed Ajmal, who was clobbered for three sixes and a four in one over. Pakistan went for 71 runs in the last four overs as the West Indies recovered from a tricky 81—5. The winner will take up the last semifinal berth. Earlier, West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss and decided to bat first against Pakistan in their World Twenty20 semifinal decider. Both teams went in unchanged in a game that will decide the second qualifier from Group 2 after India. This is their first meeting in a World T20. The West Indies is the defending champion while Pakistan is the only team to have made it to the semifinals at all four previous World T20s. Scoreboard: West Indies: D Smith c Kamran Akmal b Sohail Tanvir 8 C Gayle st Kamran Akmal b Mohammad Hafeez 5 L Simmons run out (Umar Gul) 31 M Samuels b Shahid Afridi 20 D Bravo run out (Kamran Akmal) 46 D Ramdin c Umar Akmal b Zulfiqar Babar 5 D Sammy not out 42 A Russell not out 0 Extras: (LB—4, W—5) 9 Total: (For 6 wkts; 20 overs) 166 Fall of wickets 1—10, 2—22, 3—61, 4—67, 5—81, 6—152. Bowling: Mohammad Hafeez 2—0—15—1, Sohail Tanvir 4—0—27—1, Zulfiqar Babar 4—0—27—1, Shahid Afridi 4—0—23—1, Umar Gul 2—0—29—0, Saeed Ajmal 4—0—41—0. Teams: Pakistan: Kamran Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul, Zulfiqar Babar, Saeed Ajmal. West Indies: Dwayne Smith, Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Darren Sammy (captain), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Samuel Badree, Krishmar Santokie. AP

Share this post